• Dow Jones Industrial Average4095.516+9.291 - +0.23%
  • NASDAQ Composite1864.85+2.54 - +0.14%
  • S&P 50035.62-0.20 - -0.56%
  • Abercrombie & Fitch Co.0.55-0.006 - -1.19%
  • American Apparel Inc.11.04+0.02 - +0.18%
  • Black Diamond Inc.43.02-0.83 - -1.89%
  • The Buckle, Inc.75.88-0.67 - -0.88%
  • Genesco Inc.37.54+0.15 - +0.40%
  • Iconix Brand Group, Inc.65.45+0.10 - +0.18%
  • Jarden Corporation66.00-0.62 - -1.01%
  • Nordstrom, Inc.56.27-0.63 - -1.10%
  • Luxottica Group SpA (ADR)57.35-1.83 - -3.12%
  • Macy's, Inc.74.50+0.93 - +1.27%
  • NIKE, Inc.3.22+0.01 - +0.36%
  • Pacific Sunwear of California, Inc.9.00-0.20 - -2.32%
  • Skullcandy Inc12.77+0.01 - +0.09%
  • Tilly's Inc0.00-0.64 - -1.77%
  • Urban Outfitters, Inc.60.75-0.28 - -0.47%
  • V.F. Corporation8.00+0.07 - +1.09%
  • Quiksilver, Inc.0.00-0.31 - -1.27%
  • Zumiez Inc.0.4800.000 - 0.00%
  • Billabong International Ltd0.480+0.025 - +5.56%
  • Globe International Ltd3.80+0.14 - +3.83%
  • WESC Publ AB67.00+0.22 - +0.34%
  • WP Stock Ticker

Quiksilver: 2012/13 Outerwear Preview

Drift (INC) $170 MSRP & Escape Pant (DBI) $160 MSRP

Travis Rice Symbol Gore-Tex® Jacket (MUL) $550 MSRP & Travis Rice Gore-Tex® Pant (MAZ) $375MSRP

Dave Rosenberger, Quiksilver VP of Sales

Quiksilver

Nadene Wisely, Director of Snow Merchandising and Design.
Quiksilver VP of Sales Dave Rosenberger

www.quiksilver.com/snow
(714) 889-2200
·       
What are the three biggest trends you see shaping the market and what you are doing to meet them?
Nadene:Textured and two-tone fabrics that are taking the place of basic solids, colors that are in more muted tones and are inspired by earth’s natural hues, and slimmer and more tailored fits that are beginning to take the typical snowboard fits to a more progressive level.

Are you taking any steps to minimize your environmental impact?  If so, what are some of these steps?
Nadene : Sustainable development at Quiksilver is first and foremost a mind set.  It’s about breaking down assumptions about how things are done; it’s about collaborating and sharing new ideas and innovative concepts;  it’s about being creative in re-thinking our business processes in ways that make us not only more efficient, but also more environmentally and socially responsible.   Our efforts to adopt more eco-friendly practices are ongoing, from the use of recycled fabrics to streamlining our processes, we are looking ahead and taking steps forward.

What’s in your crystal ball for 2012.2013?
Nadene: We are still seeing a trend in softshells and riding shirts paired with slimmer fitting pants. Taking that streetwear inspired look to our jackets and layering, but adding waterproofing treatments and features that will be sure to keep you warm and dry both on the slope and around town.

What new technologies are you introducing to your line?
Nadene:  One of our newest technological debuts is the Cypher Heating Layer, which uses FAR infra-red technology to keep you warm despite the conditions on the slopes. The proven performance of our Diamond Dobby™ with its unique diamond weave fabric pattern is now offered in even more applications. Applied to liners in outerwear, layering pieces, fleece, and headwear, the unique diamond pattern fabric creates airflow channels that keep you warm and dry.

What trends do you anticipate in the realm of graphics, prints, themes, and colors?
Nadene:  Minimal and more abstract prints and graphics that tell a story around our urban nature theme without being too bold. Colors are applied in a tonal way that lend themselves to a more subdued vibe.

What do you hope to contribute to snowboarding?
Dave: Products that make this great activity even greater. …just a great on hill and off hill experience based on great product from trusted brands. To provide a great riding experience with great aesthetic while keeping you warm, dry and comfortable.

How has the market evolved over the last year and how do you see things changing in the years ahead?
Dave: From Sales side in terms of distribution- We are actually seeing a few retailers get back into the snow biz.  In the tough past several years many retailers bailed on selling snow products.  However this last season we saw a few retailers decide to bring snow products back in.
The market continues to be a highly competitive and weather dependent business.

Has sales forecasting changed for your company?  If so, how has it changed?
Dave: We have not changed our approach.  For many years we keep inventory levels tight.  We have virtually no close out product.

What lessons have you learned with bookings for this season and how will you apply those to next?
Dave: Bookings were for the most part in line with expectations.  Lead times with factories are not getting any shorter so you will continue to see order deadlines be pushed up.  This will lead to earlier sales meetings and early line presentations.

Have you changed your production or distribution models at all from last season?  If so, why and how have you changed them?
Dave : We have not changed our distribution.  The majority of our business is done in the specialty market.

How are you working with retailers to help ensure strong margins, the right amount of product in the marketplace, and terms that set them up for success?
Dave: Quik and Roxy have been around for a long time. Part of success is building solid trend right product at the right price delivered on time.  We are a fair company to work with.

What are pricepoints doing?
Dave: Creeping up a touch but the economy is still tough and the sweets spot for say jackets is still in the $150-200 range.

CATEGORIZED: Uncategorized
TAGS: quiksilver